Belong

I was thirteen, my hair was in a single plait, I was smart but not a topper, I was funny but not a comedian, I was talented but not outstanding. Yet, everyday I felt like I was special. No not because of my parents, no not because of my friends but it was the way I saw myself.

But that changed, boys teased me, called me names and pushed me and the girls stood and watched as they tore me down bit by bit. The girls looked hot, had a lot of boyfriends and I had nought, so they teased and made fun of me because I was different. Mother fought with the school, the principal laughed and said that's part of growing up. 

My eyes welled up everyday, my heart hurt because I could not understand what was wrong with me. I had been nice, I played with them, I tried my best but why won't they accept who I am. Slowly but surely, I changed, I became afraid, I became hard-shelled, and I became alone and caged. 

I tried ignoring, I tried being nice and most of all I tried to connect, but alas no one wanted that. Instead it became worse everyday, yes I thought of it ending my life I mean, but I knew I was meant for something great. 

Let's fast forward today, 9 years later, I'm still a little funny, I'm still talented and yet Im succeeding in my own little way. I came back to this place, where the people are the same, time for them hasn't changed, they still continue to be hurtful but I'm more than okay. Yes, I don't belong, I never really did but that's what makes me different.

Leave a comment